Where Were You A Decade Ago Today?

The Most Famous 9/11 Photo.

It was ten years ago that the most unspeakable event on our soil happened.  I don’t even want to tell you about the events that caused over 2,000 deaths, you more than likely know about that, if you were born before that date.

 
On that day, Christina Taylor Green, granddaughter of former Phillies World Series manager Dallas Green, was born.  She lost her life in the mass shootings of Rep. Gabrielle Gifford (D-AZ) back in January of this year.
 
In case you were wondering where I was that fateful day, I was babysitting my then-two-year-old nephew, Edward.  At first, I thought is was some sort of a sick joke…but then I saw the pictures, and heard reports of two more plane crashes, one into The Pentagon, and another in Schwenksville, PA that was intended for The White House.  I turned off the TV, and hugged him hard, both of us sobbing tears.  Later, the rest of the family had come home early, and we all hugged each other.
 
I’m going to leave the comment board open for those who remembered the events of this day in history.
About jamesrussellcraven
Native Philadelphian, longtime sports fan and man about bon vivant.

2 Responses to Where Were You A Decade Ago Today?

  1. I was in the 8th grade and woke up to what happened in New York. I remember specifically my dad was away that entire week at Lake Oroville fighting a forest fire.

  2. Justin F. says:

    I was in a 6th grade science classroom when the principal (named John Bravo, not a joke) came over the loudspeaker and broke the news to everyone in the school. We watched the news the rest of the day in school. I can vividly recall exactly what desk I was sitting in.

Leave a Reply

